About IUPHAR: Governance

IUPHAR is governed by the Council, composed of delegates appointed by the member societies, division and sections, which holds its General Assembly at each World Congress of Pharmacology, a joint meeting of basic, clinical, and translational pharmacology held every four years.  Meeting minutes are available to the public.

The Council elects an Executive Committee consisting of a President, First and Second Vice-Presidents, a Secretary-General, a Treasurer, and five Councilors.  The officers of the Division of Clinical Pharmacology also sit on the Executive Committee.  The Executive Committee meets annually and is responsible for both the general and scientific administration of IUPHAR.  Meeting minutes are available to the public.

The Nominating Committee is responsible for soliciting from the member societies the names of individuals nominated to serve on the next Executive Committee. This committee makes its recommendations to the Council during the General Assembly.

The scientific activities of IUPHAR are promoted by experts in the major experimental and clinical areas of the discipline.  These areas are covered by divisions, sections and committees, which have a certain degree of autonomy but report to both the Executive Committee and the Council.


2014–2018 Executive Committee
The current Executive Committee of IUPHAR was elected by the Council at its General Assembly at the 17th World Congress of Basic and Clinical Pharmacology (WCP2014) in Cape Town, South Africa on 15 July 2014. The Executive Committee serves a four-year term.

S.J. Enna President
S.J. Enna, USA
  Patrick DuSouich Past President
Patrick du Souich, Canada
Michael Spedding Secretary-General
Michael Spedding, France
  Darrell Abernethy Chair, Division of Clinical Pharmacology
Darrell R. Abernethy, USA
Petra Thuermann Treasurer
Petra Thürmann, Germany
  David LeCouteur Secretary, Division of Clinical Pharmacology
David G. LeCouteur, Australia
Graeme Henderson First Vice-President
Graeme Henderson, United Kingdom
  Maria Isabel Lucena Treasurer, Division of Clinical Pharmacology
María Isabel Lucena, Spain
Masamitsu Iino Second Vice-President
Masamitsu Iino, Japan
  David R. Webb Vice Chair, Division of Clinical Pharmacology
David R. Webb, United Kingdom
James Barrett Councilor
James Barrett, USA

Administrative  Office


Francesca Levi-Schaffer Councilor
Francesca Levi-Schaffer, Israel
  Lynn LeCount Administrative Officer
Lynn LeCount, USA
Eeva Moilanen Councilor
Eeva Moilanen, Finland
  Leigh Ann Arbuckle Treasurer's Assistant
Leigh Ann Arbuckle, USA
Bhagirath Patel Councilor
Bhagirath Patel, India

Internal Auditors


Yongxiang Zhang Councilor
Yongxiang Zhang, China
  Kathie Knights Kathie Knights, Australia
      Johannes Knollmeyer Johannes Knollmeyer, Germany